[kohst pur kli-ck]
Cost per click (CPC) is an advertising revenue model used by websites wherein they bill advertisers based on the number of clicks on a display ad for their site. Advertisers usually set a daily budget for cost per click. When the budget is reached, the website is removed from the ad rotation for the rest of the day.
Most websites are paired with advertisers through a third party, such as Google Ads on Google AdSense. One of the most common ways to determine cost per click is by dividing the cost of your advertising campaign by the number of clicks. It's also common to determine cost per click by bidding, wherein you'd bid a price per click and the system uses algorithms to run your ads, charging you up to your bid amount but not more.
Cost per click is also sometimes called pay per click (PPC).
Example: A website with a cost per click of 10 cents would charge an advertiser $100 for 1000 clicks.
Channel sales, also known as indirect sales or partner sales, are sales facilitated through third parties instead of directly through a company’s sales team. These third parties may be agencies, influencers, or distributors. This is a common go-to-market strategy amongst B2B (business-to-business) software companies.
Channel sales is often a far more efficient system for driving revenue than direct sales, since the company doesn’t have to hire a sales team. Rather, the company only pays if and when partners make sales. Typically, partners are paid a cut of the sale, so it doesn’t require the same degree of overhead investment or risk as hiring and training an inside sales team.
That being said, to unlock maximum growth potential, many companies opt to use both direct and channel sales. Since partners will likely have access to different audiences than your sales team, it’s often worth investing in both. The programs are usually complementary as opposed to cannibalistic.
Example: Lavender Ltd. drove 30% of their revenue last year via channel sales, up from 20% the year before.
[kuhs-tuh-mer loi-uhl-tee proh-gram]
A customer loyalty program is an organized system that allows a company to reward customers for their engagement. The company may offer incentives to customers who promote their brand on social media and in real life, refer business, and perform other activities that are beneficial to the brand. In return, the customers may receive points, swag, conference tickets, gift cards, or other rewards.
Many B2B software vendors understand that their customer base is one of their greatest untapped marketing and sales resources. By encouraging happy customers to share their positive experiences with their peers, vendors can leverage customers as a low-cost, highly effective marketing channel. For example, customers may receive points that can later be redeemed for rewards by referring new business. Or customers may receive cash incentives when they generate new deals that close.
Also known as customer advocacy programs.
Example: As ChamomileCorps’ #1 fan, Refika told all her entrepreneurs friends that the software was a must-have and had saved her a great deal of time and money. Since she received 500 points on ChamomileCorps’ Cham-pions program for every referral, by the end of the year, she had received enough points to redeem them for a brand new iPad.
Go all in with partnerships. Demo our platform to see how you can diversify your channel and scale revenue.